About University


The Government of Chhattisgarh, exercising its powers and bringing Chhattisgarh ACT (No. 16 of 2015), THE Chhattisgarh Vishwavidyalaya (Sanshodhan) Adhiniyam , 2015, dated 24th of April, 2015, an Act further amending the Chhattisgarh Vishwavidyalaya Adhiniyam, 1973 (No. 22 of 1973), has established Hemchand Yadav Vishwavidyalaya, Durg (C.G.)

Honorable Governor of the State of Chhattisgarh has appointed Dr. Narendra Prasad Dixit, Tulip- 282, Talpuri, Bhilai, Durg, Chhattisgarh, as its first Kulpati (Vice Chancellor) vide I Order of the Raj Bhawan, No. 3065/F 1-2/ 2015/RS/U-19; dated 15th July, 2015, exercising his power under Section 13, Sub Section (i) of Chhattisgarh Vishwavidyalaya Adhiniyam, 1973 (22 of 1973).

The Department of Higher Education, Gov. of Chhattisgarh, Raipur has appointed Dr. S.K. Tripathi, Professor of English, Govt. Jamuna Prasad Verma Postgraduate Arts and Commerce College, Bilaspur (C.G.) as the first Registrar vide its order No. F 3-4/2015/ 38-2; Naya Raipur; dated 9-11-2015 after seeking approval from Honorable Governor of the State of Chhattisgarh vide letter No. 4859/8183/2011/RS/U-1; dated 3-10-2015.

The Hemchand Yadav Vishwavidyalaya has come into existence after the division/bifurcation of existing Pt. Ravishankar Shukla Vishwavidyalaya, Raipur (C.G.) and the jurisdiction of the Vishwavidyalaya comprises 146 affiliated colleges situated in the districts of Durg, Bemetara, Balod, Rajnandgaon and Kabirdham.

The temporary office of the Vishwavidyalaya has been set up in the three storied old Girls PG College Camus Building, Raipur Naka, Durg (C.G.) which has been allotted to the New University.